ZA country scene

Study Visa

South AfricaStudy

Explore the five recorded questions, answers and sources for this pathway.

Official link

What education or training is this pathway designed for?

The study visa covers study at a learning institution in South Africa, from school through to higher education. The Immigration Regulations, 2014 treat school and post-school study differently: a visa for study at a learning institution other than a school is issued for the duration of the course for which the applicant has registered, while a visa for study at a school as defined in the South African Schools Act, 1996 is valid for the duration of the period of study, capped at eight years for primary school and six years for secondary school. The Regulations also set separate requirements for a learner under the age of 18. The captured source does not describe short courses, exchange study or research separately; an exchange visa is a different route in the same Regulations.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • The captured source does not define which institutions count as learning institutions for this visa beyond the cross-references to the Schools Act, the Higher Education Act and the Further Education and Training Colleges Act.
  • The Immigration Regulations, 2014 were captured as published on 22 May 2014; later amendments to them, including the amendment that inserted regulation 18(12) and (13) referred to by the 2024 points-based system notice, were not captured in this run and could have changed this text.

What type of institution/course must accept or enrol the applicant?

The institution must accept the applicant and then take on reporting duties. The application must include an official letter confirming provisional acceptance or acceptance at that learning institution and the duration of the course, plus an undertaking by the Registrar or Principal to provide proof of registration within 60 days of registration, or, where the applicant fails to register by the closing date, to notify the Director-General within 7 days of that closing date; to notify the Director-General within 30 days of de-registration that the applicant is no longer registered; and to notify the Director-General within 30 days of completion of studies that the applicant has completed, or needs to extend, the period of study. The Regulations distinguish schools under the South African Schools Act, 1996 from other learning institutions, and treat institutions defined in the Higher Education Act, 1997 and the Further Education and Training Colleges Act, 2006 as the ones whose students may work part-time.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • The captured source does not state that the institution must be registered or accredited, nor where a list of qualifying institutions is published.
  • The Immigration Regulations, 2014 were captured as published on 22 May 2014; later amendments to them, including the amendment that inserted regulation 18(12) and (13) referred to by the 2024 points-based system notice, were not captured in this run and could have changed this text.

What are the most important financial or study-related conditions: tuition, funds, insurance, full-time study, attendance or equivalent?

Three financial and health conditions run through the application. The applicant must show proof of sufficient financial means available to the learner while resident in the Republic; proof of medical cover renewed annually for the period of study with a medical scheme registered under the Medical Schemes Act; and, for a learner, an undertaking by the parents or legal guardian that the learner will have medical cover for the full duration of the period of study. A police clearance certificate is required. Where a foreign state accepts responsibility for the applicant under a bilateral agreement, a written undertaking from that state to pay for the applicant's departure must be submitted. The study condition itself is registration: the visa lapses automatically if the holder fails to register with, or is de-registered from, the learning institution at any time during the visa period, or if the institution's undertakings are not met. The Regulations state no figure for sufficient financial means and no tuition requirement.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • The captured source states no monetary amount for sufficient financial means and no method for proving it.
  • The captured source does not state a tuition-payment requirement or a minimum level of medical cover.
  • The Immigration Regulations, 2014 were captured as published on 22 May 2014; later amendments to them, including the amendment that inserted regulation 18(12) and (13) referred to by the 2024 points-based system notice, were not captured in this run and could have changed this text.

Can the student work? Under what major restrictions? What is the family position where clearly stated?

A study-visa holder at a learning institution covered by the Higher Education Act or Further Education and Training Colleges Act may work part-time for no more than20hours per week. This permission does not extend to school learners. Regulation11(4)(c), as substituted in May2024, expressly includes the spouse or child of a study visa holder under Act section13 in the linked visitor accompaniment category. That visitor category does not itself grant the family member work rights.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • The20-hour provision states no term-time/year-round distinction; no broader work entitlement or accompanying-family work authorisation is inferred.
  • https://www.dha.gov.za/images/PDFs/ImmigrationRegulations2014-Updated2018-compressed.pdf
    (3) The holder of a study visa at a learning institution as defined in section 1 of the Higher Education Act, 1997 (Act 101 of 1997) and section 1 of the Further Education and Training Colleges Act, 2006 (Act 16 of 2006), may conduct part-time work for a period not exceeding 20 hours per week. (4) A study visa issued in terms of the Act shall automatically lapse if the holder thereof fails to register with or is de-registered from the learning institution at any time during the period for which his or her visa has been issued or if any of the undertakings referred to in subregulation (1)(b) are not met.
  • https://www.gov.za/sites/default/files/gcis_document/202405/50675rg11704gon4847.pdf
    (c) to accompany the holder of a visa issued in terms of sections 11, 13, 14, 15, 17, 18, 19, 20 or 22 of the Act: Provided that such a foreigner must be the spouse or child of the holder of such visa; or

How long does the status last, how is it renewed, and what officially documented post-study work or residence possibilities exist?

Duration follows the course. Subject to section 13(1) of the Immigration Act, a study visa for a learning institution other than a school is issued for the duration of the course for which the applicant has registered; for a school, it is valid for the duration of the period of study, but may not exceed eight years for primary school or six years for secondary school. Extension is anticipated rather than described: the institution must notify the Director-General within 30 days of completion when the applicant has completed studies or requires to extend the period of study. The visa lapses automatically on failure to register or de-registration. The captured source describes no post-study work permission and no permanent-residence step from a study visa.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • The captured source does not describe the renewal or extension procedure, its conditions or its fees.
  • The captured source states no post-study work permission and no permanent-residence or citizenship pathway from a study visa.
  • The Immigration Regulations, 2014 were captured as published on 22 May 2014; later amendments to them, including the amendment that inserted regulation 18(12) and (13) referred to by the 2024 points-based system notice, were not captured in this run and could have changed this text.
  • Immigration Regulations, 2014 (GN R413, Gazette 37679, 22 May 2014)
    (2) Subject to section 13(1) of the Act- (a) visas issued for studies at a learning institution, other than a school contemplated in section 1 of the South African Schools Act, 1996 (Act No. 84 of 1996), shall be issued for the duration of the course for which the applicant has registered;
  • Immigration Regulations, 2014 (GN R413, Gazette 37679, 22 May 2014)
    (b) visas issued for studies at a learning institution, which is a school contemplated in section 1 of the South African Schools Act, 1996 (Act No. 84 of 1996), shall be valid for the duration of the period of study: Provided that the study visa issued for studies at a primary school shall not exceed eight years and for a secondary school shall not exceed six years.
  • Immigration Regulations, 2014 (GN R413, Gazette 37679, 22 May 2014)
    (iv) within 30 days of completion of studies, notify the Director-General when the applicant has completed his or her studies or requires to extend such period of study;
  • Immigration Regulations, 2014 (GN R413, Gazette 37679, 22 May 2014)
    (4) A study visa issued in terms of the Act shall automatically lapse if the holder thereof fails to register with or is de-registered from the learning institution at any time during the period for which his or her visa has been issued or if any of the undertakings referred to in subregulation (1)(b) are not met.

These are the answers currently recorded in the catalogue. A missing or partial answer is not an eligibility decision.

Your story.
Your next step.

Get your free results