Key takeaway: IRCC's fee list shows CAD 1,590.00 for an economic permanent residence application (this includes the CAD 600.00 right of permanent residence fee) and CAD 270.00 per dependent child. For the Federal Skilled Worker and Federal Skilled Trades programmes, IRCC's proof-of-funds table (updated July 7, 2025) starts at CAD 15,263 for one family member. RBI allows remittances up to USD 2,50,000 per year; see the TCS section for the rates above Rs. 10 lakhs.

Permanent residence application fees

IRCC publishes a fee list for permanent residence. Under the heading "Economic immigration (including Express Entry)", which names programmes such as the Canadian experience class, federal skilled workers, federal skilled trades and provincial nominee, the list shows CAD 1,590.00 for the application, an amount it says includes the processing fee and the right of permanent residence fee. Without the right of permanent residence fee, the list shows CAD 990.00. An IRCC notice dated March 27, 2026 announced that permanent residence fees would increase on April 30, 2026, and says applications received on or after that date are subject to the new fees.

Spouse or partner, children and the right of permanent residence fee

On the same list, the row "Include your spouse or partner" shows CAD 1,590.00, with the same wording that the amount includes the processing fee and the right of permanent residence fee; the row without that fee shows CAD 990.00. A dependent child is listed at CAD 270.00 per child. The list gives the right of permanent residence fee as CAD 600.00 and says it does not apply to the dependent children of a principal applicant. IRCC's fee-change page shows that fee, for the principal applicant and accompanying spouse or common-law partner, moving from $575 to $600.

Biometrics fee

The fee list shows a biometrics fee of CAD 85.00 per individual. For a family of 2 or more eligible people applying at the same time it shows a maximum of CAD 170.00. The page introduces biometrics as something people who are citizens of certain countries or territories must give when they apply for a visitor visa, study permit or work permit. This article does not establish whether a given permanent residence application requires biometrics or whether this fee applies to it; the IRCC guide for your application is the place to check.

Settlement funds required by IRCC

IRCC's Express Entry page says the Federal Skilled Worker Program and Federal Skilled Trades Program require proof of funds. Its table, marked "Updated July 7, 2025", lists the minimum funds in CAD by family size: $15,263 for 1 family member, $19,001 for 2, $23,360 for 3 and $28,362 for 4. IRCC says it updates these numbers every year, so check the page. You do not need to show these funds if you apply under the Canadian Experience Class, or if you are authorized to work in Canada and have a valid job offer. Family size includes you, your spouse or common-law partner and dependent children, even if they are Canadian citizens or permanent residents or are not coming with you.

What IRCC says counts as proof of funds

The page says your funds must be available to you both when you apply and when a permanent resident visa is issued, if the application is approved. As proof it asks for official letters from banks or financial institutions, on letterhead, showing your outstanding debts and, for each account, details including current balances and the average balance for the past 6 months. It also says you cannot use equity on real property as proof of settlement funds and you cannot borrow this money from another person. If your spouse is coming with you, joint-account money can be counted.

Sending money out of India: the RBI limit

The Reserve Bank of India's FAQ says that under the Liberalised Remittance Scheme resident individuals, including minors, may freely remit up to USD 2,50,000 per financial year (April – March) for any permissible current or capital account transaction or a combination of both. Its Master Direction lists emigration among the current account transactions included within that limit and says release of foreign exchange above USD 2,50,000 requires prior permission from the Reserve Bank. A separate paragraph on emigration refers to the amount prescribed by the country of emigration or USD 250,000.

Tax collected at source on remittances

The Income Tax Department's TCS rates page (upload date 30/04/2026) says an authorised dealer collects tax at 5% on remittances under the Liberalized Remittance Scheme, and that no TCS is required if the remittance does not exceed Rs. 10 lakhs. Where the amount is remitted for any purpose other than education or medical treatment, the page says tax is collected at 20% of the amount remitted in excess of Rs. 10 lakh. The page does not say whether the tax can later be adjusted against income tax, so this article makes no statement on that.

Language test fee in India

IDP Education India's booking page lists the IELTS test fee by test type: INR 19,000 for IELTS on Computer and INR 19,000 for IELTS on Paper, with a one skill retake at INR 12,650. This is the test provider's own published price, not an IRCC fee. The page is undated and fees may change, and it does not say which IELTS version a given immigration programme accepts, so check the language-test rules for your programme on the IRCC website.

Questions before acting

What does IRCC list as the fee for an economic permanent residence application?

Under "Economic immigration (including Express Entry)" the fee list shows CAD 1,590.00, which it says includes the processing fee and the right of permanent residence fee, and CAD 990.00 without the right of permanent residence fee. A dependent child is listed at CAD 270.00.

How much money does IRCC say Express Entry applicants must show?

For the Federal Skilled Worker and Federal Skilled Trades programmes, the IRCC table (updated July 7, 2025) shows CAD 15,263 for 1 family member, CAD 19,001 for 2, CAD 23,360 for 3 and CAD 28,362 for 4. IRCC says it updates these numbers every year and that you cannot borrow this money from another person.

What do the RBI and the Income Tax Department say about sending money abroad?

The RBI says resident individuals may remit up to USD 2,50,000 per financial year under the Liberalised Remittance Scheme. The Income Tax Department page says the authorised dealer collects tax at 5%, that no TCS is required if the remittance does not exceed Rs. 10 lakhs, and that for purposes other than education or medical treatment the rate is 20% on the amount above Rs. 10 lakh.

Corrections in this revision

The previous version included statements without sufficient direct support. This revision removes or corrects:

  • Overall budget range and the headline estimate of immigration fees, including the rupee and dollar conversions: no official source and mixed unsourced items; removed.
  • The old fee figure for the principal applicant's permanent residence application: does not match the current fee list; replaced by the current IRCC list.
  • The old fee figure for the spouse: does not match the current fee list; replaced by the spouse row of the current IRCC list, quoted as listed.
  • The old per-child fee: out of date after the permanent residence fee increase; replaced by the current IRCC list.
  • All rupee figures and rupee-to-dollar conversions: no official fixed exchange rate; removed.
  • The old language-test price: out of date and the test type was not shown by the provider; replaced by the provider's currently published price.
  • The educational credential assessment price: not confirmed (the provider page blocked plain access and IRCC does not publish it); removed.
  • Medical examination, police certificate, passport and French-test prices: no official or provider source found in this review; removed.
  • The biometrics fee is kept as shown on the IRCC fee list, but whether a permanent residence application requires biometrics is not established; the article says so.
  • The old settlement-funds figure for a family of four: outdated; replaced by the current IRCC table. The old figures for one to three people were confirmed.
  • The old article's statement that the settlement-funds amounts are updated annually: kept, because the IRCC proof-of-funds page says it updates the numbers every year; the article now cites that wording and states the table date.
  • The claim that bank statements and a list of instruments (fixed deposits, savings, mutual funds) are acceptable: replaced by what IRCC says (bank letters with an average balance); the list of instruments has no official source here; removed.
  • The claim that settlement funds must be shown but not spent: not stated by IRCC; replaced by IRCC's wording that funds must be available when applying and when the visa is issued.
  • The claim that these costs are non-refundable once submitted: removed. The IRCC fee list says the right of permanent residence fee is the only fee it can refund after processing starts, and that it refunds that fee if you withdraw or your application is refused.
  • The claim that recent large deposits or parked funds raise red flags and can lead to refusal: no official excerpt; removed.
  • Flight, baggage, sea-freight, seasonal price and airline claims: no official source; removed.
  • The first-month cost table (rent, groceries, transit, phone, clothing, essentials, city totals), suburb savings, city rent comparisons and the provincial sales-tax remark: no official source; removed.
  • Money-transfer claims (bank margins, specialist-provider fees, claimed savings, wire fees): third-party or commercial claims without an official source; removed.
  • The Reserve Bank of India annual remittance limit is confirmed on the RBI FAQ; the rupee conversion of that limit was removed.
  • The old threshold for tax collected at source on remittances: out of date; the Income Tax Department page shows a higher threshold and the rate stated in the article; corrected.
  • The claim that tax collected at source is adjustable against the income tax return and is not a permanent tax: not stated on the captured official page; removed.
  • The cheapest-cities FAQ and the provincial nominee points comments: no official source; removed.
  • The answer that a home loan cannot be settlement funds: replaced with IRCC's wording that equity on real property cannot be used and money cannot be borrowed from another person.
  • The statement that Canadian Experience Class applicants are exempt: kept, with IRCC's exact conditions (that class, or authorization to work with a valid job offer).
  • The title, key takeaway and FAQ promised a full cost breakdown including city budgets; narrowed to officially published fees and requirements.

Review scope: legal and financial statements in this revised article. Recheck on a provider, professional, immigration or tax-rule change; reuse of dated figures requires a new check.

See recorded sources

These primary references have the jurisdiction, product and scope stated above. A source link is not proof of personalised eligibility.

Find the most affordable Canadian city for your profile

Explore recorded pathways and source links. This questionnaire does not determine eligibility or recommend a destination.

Get your free results

Visa and WTE updates by email.

No fixed schedule is promised. Unsubscribe at any time.

About the author

António Mira is the founder of whereTOemigrate. For over a decade he has worked at the intersection of Portuguese real estate and overseas business, helping international clients navigate the cross-border decisions that come with relocating. He sits on the board of CCIAP (Portuguese-Arab Chamber of Commerce), the Portuguese-Saudi Business Council, and the Portugal-Hong Kong Business Association — always with one focus: enabling overseas business and human mobility into and out of Portugal.

How we verify our data · Editorial standards · About whereTOemigrate