VU country scene

Residence Visa - Self-Funded Resident

VanuatuLiving from your own income

Explore the five recorded questions, answers and sources for this pathway.

Programme source

Is this aimed at retirees, pensioners, financially independent people, passive-income holders or another profile?

The Self-funded Resident category of the Vanuatu Residence Visa is for applicants who live on their own certified monthly income, with a higher figure required when a spouse or de facto partner is included.

See recorded sources

Which types of income/assets are accepted according to the official source?

The checked official sources did not provide enough route-specific evidence to confirm which types of income or assets are accepted.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • The Live page only requires a 'certified income' (cited by r1/r3) and continuing income (cited by r4); it names no accepted sources (pension, investments, etc.) and no asset test.

What income, savings or financial-resources threshold applies and how does family affect it where officially specified?

Recorded expiry date

. Confirmation is required after this date. Check the linked sources before relying on this recorded answer.

The threshold is a certified income of at least 250,000 Vatu per month, rising to 500,000 Vatu per month if a spouse or de facto partner is included.

See recorded sources

Can the holder work locally, run a business or perform other economic activity? What is the family position?

The main applicant must continue to meet the required monthly income criteria. The official page is internally inconsistent on family: it says applicants can include their spouse and dependent children except those applying under the Self-Funded Resident category, yet it also sets a higher certified income of 500,000 Vatu per month if a spouse or de facto partner is included. The official source does not state whether the holder may work locally or run a business.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • The official source does not state whether the holder may work locally or run a business.

How long is the status granted, what is required for renewal, what physical-presence obligations matter, and what longer-term residence direction exists?

The checked official sources did not provide enough route-specific evidence to confirm the duration, renewal, physical-presence obligations and longer-term direction.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • This detail is not established in the evidence recorded here. Confirm the applicable requirement with the responsible authority.

These are the answers currently recorded in the catalogue. A missing or partial answer is not an eligibility decision.

Your story.
Your next step.

Get your free results