Moving abroad for work? 10 short steps, free, no signup — see your first matching programme.Get your free results
Key takeaway: GOV.UK lists software developers under code 2134 (Higher Skilled; the employer confirms the code for the actual role), with a standard going rate of £54,700 against a usual minimum of £41,700 that can be lower in some cases. Standard fees start at £819 from outside the UK. The code is not in the immigration salary list table as published (page headed 11 November 2025).

The route and how long it takes

The gov.uk guide says a Skilled Worker visa allows a person to come to or stay in the UK to do an eligible job with an approved employer. A confirmed job offer is needed before applying, and the employer gives a certificate of sponsorship. The visa can last for up to 5 years before an extension is needed. The page says a decision usually comes within 3 weeks from outside the UK or 8 weeks from inside the UK. Applications can be made up to 3 months before the start date, and within 3 months of getting the certificate.

Salary rules

The page says a person will usually need the higher of £41,700 per year or the going rate, and that jobs can sometimes pay less. The minimum may be lower for people extending or updating, and some people who do not meet the usual requirements may be eligible at £33,400 or more; those cases are not covered here. For code 2134 the standard going rate is £54,700. A lower rate of £40,000 applies to, for example, people who got their first certificate of sponsorship before 4 April 2024 and have held Skilled Worker visas continually since. Annual figures assume a 37.5-hour week.

Occupation code 2134 and the immigration salary list

Code 2134, programmers and software development professionals, is marked Higher Skilled and lists computer programmers and software developers. "Software engineer" is not a listed title, and the page says the job description must match what you will be doing, so the employer must confirm the code. For jobs on the immigration salary list the minimum salary is 80% of the route's usual minimum rate, for example code 2142, graphic and multimedia designers. Code 2134 does not appear in that table as published (page headed 11 November 2025), so the lower salary-list fees should not be assumed to apply.

Official costs

For applications from outside the UK, the page gives a fee of £819 per person for up to 3 years and £1,618 for more than 3 years. To extend, switch or update from inside the UK it gives £943 and £1,865. Jobs on the immigration salary list pay £628 per person for up to 3 years or £1,235 for more than 3 years, inside or outside the UK. The healthcare surcharge is usually £1,035 per year. The page says to hold at least £1,270 for 28 days in a row, unless exempt. Its example, a 2-year stay from outside the UK, totals £2,889 for the fee plus surcharge.

English and documents

The page says English can be shown with a UK school qualification, a UK degree, an English-taught degree from outside the UK, or an approved English test. The test level is B2 on the CEFR scale. People who held this visa before 8 January 2026 and are extending or updating it need B1. The page lists nationalities that do not need to prove English. Documents include the certificate of sponsorship reference number, a passport, the job title and salary, the occupation code, and the employer's sponsor licence number.

Partner and children

The page says a partner and children may apply to join or stay as dependants, and that they must make separate applications. It lists a husband, wife, civil partner or unmarried partner, and a child under 18. The page sets extra conditions for care workers and for jobs listed as medium skilled. Software developers are listed as Higher Skilled in the occupations table. Check the dependant fee and evidence rules for your own case on the official pages.

Changing employer

The page says a visa holder needs to apply to update the visa to change to a different employer, or if the job moves to a different occupation code. The new job must meet the eligibility rules and needs a new certificate of sponsorship. An application can be made up to 3 months before the new job starts. The holder can keep working in the current job during the application if they apply before the visa expires, and should not start the new job until the new permission is confirmed.

Settling in the UK

The indefinite leave to remain page for this visa says an applicant must have lived and worked in the UK for 5 years and meet the salary requirements. Applicants aged 18 to 64 must pass the Life in the UK Test, and English does not have to be proved again. The earliest application date is 28 days before the 5 years end. The fee is £3,226 per person, and a decision usually comes within 6 months of providing fingerprints and a photo. The page says it can be used to apply for British citizenship.

Questions before acting

Is the software developer occupation code on the immigration salary list?

The salary list page, headed as updated on 11 November 2025, does not list code 2134 in its table. The occupations table marks 2134 as Higher Skilled, and the going rates table gives a standard going rate of £54,700. Check the live page, because the list can change.

How much does the Skilled Worker visa cost?

From outside the UK the page shows £819 for up to 3 years and £1,618 for more than 3 years, plus a healthcare surcharge that is usually £1,035 per year. Savings of £1,270 are also required unless exempt.

Can I change employer on a Skilled Worker visa?

The page says a visa holder must apply to update the visa for a different employer. A new certificate of sponsorship is needed, and the new job should not start until the new permission is confirmed.

Corrections in this revision

The previous version included statements without sufficient direct support. This revision removes or corrects:

  • The old application fee figures (for stays up to and over three years): outdated. They were replaced by the current fees shown on the gov.uk costs page, for applying from outside and from inside the UK.
  • The estimated total first-year cost: a derived estimate, not on any official page. Removed; the official worked example for a short stay is used instead.
  • The expected salary range for software engineers, given in euros: no official source and a different currency. Removed.
  • The typical going rate for software engineers: outdated. The current going rates table and the general minimum salary are now used instead.
  • The market salary ranges for London roles and for senior engineers at large firms: market claims with no official source. Removed.
  • The claim that software engineering roles are on the Immigration Salary List and therefore have a reduced salary threshold: not supported. The occupation code for software developers is not in the published table; the claim is removed and the opposite is stated, with its basis.
  • The statement that the role must match two named occupation codes: one of them is the code for IT quality and testing professionals, not for software developers. Only the code for software developers is kept.
  • The English level given as the entry level or above: corrected. The page requires a higher level for a new test; the lower level applies only to people who held the visa before a stated date and are extending or updating it.
  • The single processing-time range: replaced by the page's separate times for applying from outside the UK and from inside the UK.
  • The claim that no degree is required if experience is sufficient: not stated on the official pages. Removed.
  • The ranking of London against other tech cities, the named companies, the venture-capital market and the cheaper-alternative cities: rankings and market description without official source. Removed.
  • The claim that British citizenship is available a set time after indefinite leave to remain: the settlement page read says only that this status can be used to apply for citizenship. The timing is removed.
  • The processing time and extra fee quoted for switching employers: removed because the old article did not back them with the sources it cited. The update page gives its own usual decision time and refers to the fees page; this article does not restate either.
  • The funds requirement and the healthcare surcharge were re-checked on the official pages and kept; the page describes the surcharge as usually applying.
  • The statement that settlement requires meeting the English requirement: corrected. The settlement page says English does not need to be proved again when settling on this visa.
  • The statement that many employers cover these costs as part of a relocation package: no official source. Removed.
  • The history of the Immigration Salary List replacing the Shortage Occupation List: not stated on the cited pages. Removed.
  • The assumption that the job title software engineer equals the occupation code for software developers: the official pages key the code to the duties and that title is not listed, so the text now says the employer must confirm the code.
  • The generic World Bank and OECD data-source lines: not article facts. Removed.

Review scope: legal and financial statements in this revised article. Recheck on a provider, professional, immigration or tax-rule change; reuse of dated figures requires a new check.

See recorded sources

These primary references have the jurisdiction, product and scope stated above. A source link is not proof of personalised eligibility.

See If the United Kingdom Matches Your Profile

Explore recorded pathways and source links. This questionnaire does not determine eligibility or recommend a destination.

Get your free results

Visa and WTE updates by email.

No fixed schedule is promised. Unsubscribe at any time.

About the author

António Mira is the founder of whereTOemigrate. For over a decade he has worked at the intersection of Portuguese real estate and overseas business, helping international clients navigate the cross-border decisions that come with relocating. He sits on the board of CCIAP (Portuguese-Arab Chamber of Commerce), the Portuguese-Saudi Business Council, and the Portugal-Hong Kong Business Association — always with one focus: enabling overseas business and human mobility into and out of Portugal.

How we verify our data · Editorial standards · About whereTOemigrate