whereTOemigrate Research · official sources checked 4 October 2026
Financial Requirements Snapshot: Seven Route-Specific Examples
What must you earn, and what money must you show? These seven examples keep the programme, application stage and applicant population attached to each amount.
Download the seven-record CSV · Read the reproducible method · Free before you take the quiz.
Seven observations, with their scope
Amounts concern the stated 2026 reference. They are not a prediction of acceptance or the total cost of an application. Source review: 4 October 2026. Page assembled: 5 October 2026.
| Jurisdiction, programme and stage | Amount | Currency and measure | Native period | Applicant population | Conditions, effective period and sources |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DE · EU Blue Card §18g initial qualified employment | 50700.00 | EUR gross salary | gross/year | principal applicant | calendar year 2026; source explicitly names year gross Official source 1 |
| DE · EU Blue Card §18g(1) initial qualified employment | 45934.20 | EUR gross salary | gross/year | principal applicant; conditional reduced threshold | Listed shortage occupations or academic qualification no more than three years before application; BA approval. Not universal for every profession. calendar year 2026 for amount; current §18g for application conditions gross Official source 1 Official source 2 |
| AT · Residence Permit–Student (no mobility programme) initial application | 722.58 | EUR living funds | month | individual student under 24 | Living funds, not a salary floor. The couple amount is for both; the child amount is an increment. Prove 12 months in advance using funds in the applicant’s name accessible from Austria or a recognised alternative. Add funds for accommodation above EUR 386.43/month and for necessary health insurance. 2026 as expressly labelled by OeAD; current official presentation read 2026-10-04 not applicable Official source 1 |
| AT · Residence Permit–Student (no mobility programme) initial application | 1308.39 | EUR living funds | month | individual student age 24 or older | Living funds, not a salary floor. The couple amount is for both; the child amount is an increment. Prove 12 months in advance using funds in the applicant’s name accessible from Austria or a recognised alternative. Add funds for accommodation above EUR 386.43/month and for necessary health insurance. 2026 as expressly labelled by OeAD; current official presentation read 2026-10-04 not applicable Official source 1 |
| AT · Residence Permit–Student (no mobility programme) initial application | 2064.12 | EUR living funds | month | couple; amount for both | Living funds, not a salary floor. The couple amount is for both; the child amount is an increment. Prove 12 months in advance using funds in the applicant’s name accessible from Austria or a recognised alternative. Add funds for accommodation above EUR 386.43/month and for necessary health insurance. 2026 as expressly labelled by OeAD; current official presentation read 2026-10-04 not applicable Official source 1 |
| AT · Residence Permit–Student (no mobility programme) initial application | 201.88 | EUR additional living funds | month | additional amount for each child; not the household total | Living funds, not a salary floor. The couple amount is for both; the child amount is an increment. Prove 12 months in advance using funds in the applicant’s name accessible from Austria or a recognised alternative. Add funds for accommodation above EUR 386.43/month and for necessary health insurance. 2026 as expressly labelled by OeAD; current official presentation read 2026-10-04 not applicable Official source 1 |
| PT · D8 residence visa consular visa application | 3680.00 | EUR average monthly income | average month over previous three months | principal applicant | Explicit derivation 4×920=3680; not a separately quoted amount; verify consular income assessment. 2026 reference calculation D8 assessment gross/net not specified Official source 1 Official source 2 |
Three calculations you can reproduce
- 4 × 920 = 3,680
EUR; average monthly income over the previous three months; gross/net assessment not stated - 12 × 722.58 = 8,670.96
EUR; 12-month base living funds for an individual student under 24; housing and insurance additions excluded - 12 × 1,308.39 = 15,700.68
EUR; 12-month base living funds for an individual student aged 24 or older; housing and insurance additions excluded
The Austria calculations are base funds only. OeAD requires additional funds when accommodation costs exceed EUR 386.43/month in 2026, and sufficient funds for necessary health insurance. They are not all-in budgets. Portugal’s EUR 3,680 is explicitly derived from 4 × the EUR 920 reference; it is not a separate quote of a euro amount in the D8 rule. The rule refers to average monthly income over the last three months.
Method and exclusions
- Start with the selected official financial facts checked on 4 October 2026: Germany’s Bundesagentur für Arbeit and §18g, Austria’s OeAD student-permit page, and Portugal’s MNE national-visa pages.
- Keep each programme, stage, currency, native period, gross/net wording, population and conditions. Austria’s four population cases become separate records; the child amount is an increment.
- Export the seven selected records. The Portugal value follows the published multiplier and 2026 reference. The two Austria illustrations multiply the base monthly funds by the officially stated twelve-month proof period.
- Do not convert annual salary into monthly living funds. No exchange rate, median, ranking, inflation rate, total relocation cost or coverage claim is calculated.
This is a purposive three-jurisdiction subset, not a worldwide dataset. It excludes programme fees, taxes, exchange rates, investment routes, actual processing costs, unreviewed values, and household scenarios not represented by these sources. Null or unstated information is not zero.
The CSV fields identify the amount, evidence fact, source URLs, source review date, effective period and explicit derivation. Currency is EUR in this edition. Germany’s reduced threshold is conditional; other requirements and the responsible authority’s assessment still apply.
Reuse the original WTE compilation with attribution under CC BY 4.0. Linked official publications retain their own terms. Cite: whereTOemigrate, Financial Requirements Snapshot: Seven Route-Specific Examples, official sources checked 4 October 2026, accessed on your actual access date.
Correction: the former global “Visa Inflation Index” baseline at this URL has been replaced. Its cross-programme medians and inflation framing are withdrawn. Old CSV download links redirect to this named, scoped dataset; this is a replacement, not a revised historical median series.
Use the examples for your next check
Read the EU Blue Card explanation, the Austria student-permit financial evidence in the Albania/Austria comparison, or the Portugal D8 guide. Choose the exact programme before preparing financial evidence.