GB country scene

Short-term Student — English language

United KingdomStudy

Explore the five recorded questions, answers and sources for this pathway.

Official link

What education or training is this pathway designed for?

This pathway is designed for taking an English language course in the UK.

See recorded sources
  • Overview
    You may be eligible for a Short-term study visa if you’re taking an English language course in the UK.

What type of institution/course must accept or enrol the applicant?

An English language course (longer than 6 months and up to 11 months, with no other subjects) with an accredited institution: either an accredited UK institution holding a student sponsor licence or listed as accredited by a named body (e.g. Accreditation UK, British Accreditation Council, Ofsted, Office for Students, QAA), or an eligible overseas higher education provider with its own national accreditation, offering no more than half of its programme in the UK and degree-equivalent programmes. State-funded schools are excluded.

See recorded sources
  • https://www.gov.uk/study-visit-visa/print
    Your English language course must be with an ‘accredited institution’. This can be either: an accredited UK institution an eligible overseas provider, if you’re studying in the UK as part of an overseas course Your course must last longer than 6 months but not more than 11 months. Accredited UK institutions An accredited institution must either have a student sponsor licence or have a valid accreditation and be listed by one of the following: Accreditation Service for International Colleges Accreditation UK British Accreditation Council Education and Training Inspectorate (in Northern Ireland) Estyn (in Wales) Education Scotland Independent Schools Inspectorate Office for Standards in Education (Ofsted) Office for Students Quality Assurance Agency for Higher Education Eligible overseas providers You can also apply for a Short-term study visa if you’re studying at an overseas higher education institution and part of your English language course is in the UK. Your institution must: hold its own national accreditation offer no more than half of its educational programme in the UK offer programmes that are equivalent to a UK degree
  • https://www.gov.uk/study-visit-visa/print
    study at a state-funded school
  • https://www.gov.uk/study-visit-visa/print
    you’ve been accepted onto an English language course that lasts longer than 6 months and up to 11 months and includes no other subjects

What are the most important financial or study-related conditions: tuition, funds, insurance, full-time study, attendance or equivalent?

The course must last longer than 6 months but not more than 11 months. The visa costs £228 and the healthcare surcharge usually costs £776. The official source does not state tuition, funds or attendance conditions.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • The document does not mention tuition fees, funds, insurance, full-time study, attendance or equivalent conditions beyond the course length and visa/surcharge costs.
  • Overview
    To apply, your course must last longer than 6 months but not more than 11 months.
  • Fees and costs
    It costs £228 for a Short-term study visa.
  • Healthcare surcharge
    You’ll also have to pay the healthcare surcharge as part of your online application. It usually costs £776.

Can the student work? Under what major restrictions? What is the family position where clearly stated?

The student cannot work or carry out any business (including paid or unpaid work, work experience or work placements). The student cannot bring family members (dependants) with them on this visa.

See recorded sources
  • What you cannot do
    work or carry out any business (this includes paid or unpaid work, work experience or work placements)
  • What you cannot do
    bring family members (‘dependants’) with you on this visa

How long does the status last, how is it renewed, and what officially documented post-study work or residence possibilities exist?

The student can stay in the UK for the length of the course plus an extra 30 days, as long as the stay is no longer than 11 months. The visa cannot be extended. The official source does not state post-study work or residence options.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • The document does not mention any post-study work or residence possibilities.

These are the answers currently recorded in the catalogue. A missing or partial answer is not an eligibility decision.

Your story.
Your next step.

Get your free results