TZ country scene

Residence Permit C-9 — Intern

TanzaniaStudy

Explore the five recorded questions, answers and sources for this pathway.

Official link

What education or training is this pathway designed for?

Tanzania's Residence Permit Class C-9 is for interns. The Class C matrix describes an eligible person as someone engaged in non-remunerated activities as an intern. Interns are among the Class C examples, which are for foreigners not eligible for Class A or B.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • The portal identifies its page as Version 2026.7 but gives no legal effective date.

What type of institution/course must accept or enrol the applicant?

The C-9-specific checklist for intern students lists a host-institution approval letter, evidence of sponsorship or scholarship, and a letter of approval from the Ministry of Education and Vocational Training for intern students/internships. A Physical Verification Visit Report is listed where necessary.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • The guideline does not define sponsorship amounts or the conditions triggering a Physical Verification Visit.
  • Specific Requirements (Class C) — intern student documents
    Specific documents for Intern Student Letter of Approval from host institution Evidence of sponsorship/scholarship Letter of approval from ministry of education and vocational training for intern students(internship) Physical Verification Visit Report (PVV) where necessary

What are the most important financial or study-related conditions: tuition, funds, insurance, full-time study, attendance or equivalent?

The C-9 fee matrix lists USD 200 in its FEE IN USD column and 100 in each of the separate EAC CITIZENS FEE and DIASPORA FEE columns; it does not repeat a currency for those two amounts. C-9 is described as non-remunerated internship activity, but this guideline gives no separate maintenance-funds threshold or sponsorship amount. Its Version 2026.7 page does not state a legal effective date.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • The EAC and Diaspora amounts' currency, sponsorship amount, and legal effective date are not stated clearly in the captured guideline.

Can the student work? Under what major restrictions? What is the family position where clearly stated?

The C-9 matrix describes the internship activity as non-remunerated. The official guideline does not say whether a C-9 holder may take separate paid employment or other work, or whether dependants have work rights. A general Work Permit exception is listed for studies and research, but the guideline does not expressly say that it also covers every C-9 internship.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • Separate employment and dependant work rights are not stated, and the page does not resolve whether its studies exception covers C-9 internships.

How long does the status last, how is it renewed, and what officially documented post-study work or residence possibilities exist?

The general Class C checklist lists the previous original permit for renewal or replacement. The official source does not state the length of the C-9 permit, the renewal interval or any post-internship work or residence possibility.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • C-9 duration, renewal timing and post-internship route are not specified in the captured guideline.

These are the answers currently recorded in the catalogue. A missing or partial answer is not an eligibility decision.

Your story.
Your next step.

Get your free results