SE country scene

Highly qualified job-seeker or business-exploration permit

SwedenTalent and merit

Explore the five recorded questions, answers and sources for this pathway.

Official link

Which exceptional-talent, academic, scientific, artistic, technological, cultural or other profiles does the pathway target?

It targets people who have completed studies equivalent to a second-cycle qualification and want to come to Sweden to look for work or explore starting their own business.

See recorded sources

What achievements, recognition, awards, publications, reputation or other evidence establishes the required level?

The required level is a second-cycle qualification: a 60- or 120-credit Master’s degree, a professional degree of 60–330 credits, or a postgraduate/PhD-level degree, evidenced by the degree certificate and list of subjects; a power of attorney lets the Swedish Council for Higher Education (UHR) verify the study documents.

See recorded sources

Is an employer, nominator, recognised body, peer group or government endorsement required?

The checked official sources did not provide enough route-specific evidence to confirm whether an employer, nominator or official endorsement is required.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • Searched 368bf39827332863.txt for employer, sponsor, nominator or endorsement; none is stated (the UHR power of attorney only verifies study documents and is used in R2). Not explicit_none because the page does not say no endorsement is needed.

Can the holder change employer, work independently, establish a business or conduct other professional activity? What is the family position?

If the holder gets a job in Sweden during the permit period, they can apply for a work permit from within Sweden, but may not start working before applying for the new permit; once they have applied, they may work while the application is processed, only for the employer and within the profession applied for. If they decide to start a business, they can apply for a residence permit as a self-employed person and run the business while the application is processed. The official source does not state the family position.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • The captured page states nothing about the family position (whether family members may accompany or work).

What duration, renewal and accelerated or normal longer-term residence pathway is officially stated?

The permit can be granted for a maximum of nine months, and never for longer than the passport is valid. The official source does not state whether the permit can be extended or any longer-term residence pathway from it.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • The page does not state whether the permit can be extended, nor any permanent-residence pathway from it; the switch to a work or self-employed permit is covered under R4.

These are the answers currently recorded in the catalogue. A missing or partial answer is not an eligibility decision.

Your story.
Your next step.

Get your free results