SE country scene

Doctoral-studies residence permit

SwedenStudy

Explore the five recorded questions, answers and sources for this pathway.

Official link

What education or training is this pathway designed for?

The pathway is designed for people who have been admitted to doctoral studies, which are third-cycle studies leading to a licentiate degree, qualification in the fine, applied, or performing arts, a doctoral degree, or a doctoral degree in the fine, applied, or performing arts.

See recorded sources
  • Important to know
    Here you will find information about residence permits for people who have been admitted to doctoral studies. Doctoral studies are third-cycle studies that will lead to a licentiate degree, qualification in the fine, applied, or performing arts, a doctoral degree, or a doctoral degree in the fine, applied, or performing arts.

What type of institution/course must accept or enrol the applicant?

The applicant must be finally admitted to full-time studies in Sweden. The official source does not state the type of institution.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • The cited text does not specify the type of institution or that the admission decision must state studying on site.

What are the most important financial or study-related conditions: tuition, funds, insurance, full-time study, attendance or equivalent?

Any tuition fee must be paid before applying. For studies under one year, comprehensive health insurance is required (own policy if not insured through the institution). Maintenance must be shown via own bank assets, a scholarship or a doctoral salary/grant: at least SEK 10,656 per month if applied in 2026 (SEK 10,584 in 2025); a doctoral salary is shown with a certificate of enrolment from the institution.

See recorded sources

Can the student work? Under what major restrictions? What is the family position where clearly stated?

Yes: alongside full-time studies the doctoral student may work in teaching, research or administration up to 20 percent of full time; industrial doctoral students may work more under certain conditions. Family members (spouses, registered or cohabiting partners, children under 18) can apply at the same time.

See recorded sources

How long does the status last, how is it renewed, and what officially documented post-study work or residence possibilities exist?

The permit is granted for a maximum of four years, not longer than the planned studies or passport validity, and can be extended. The official source does not state post-study work or residence options.

See recorded sources

These are the answers currently recorded in the catalogue. A missing or partial answer is not an eligibility decision.

Your story.
Your next step.

Get your free results