SK country scene

Temporary Residence for Study

SlovakiaStudy

Explore the five recorded questions, answers and sources for this pathway.

Official link

What education or training is this pathway designed for?

For a full-time secondary-school student younger than 20 on filing (younger than 23 for follow-up, qualification, specialised or higher vocational studies), a university student, or a person attending language or professional training for university study organised by a Slovak university.

See recorded sources

What type of institution/course must accept or enrol the applicant?

The application includes a confirmation of acceptance for studies from a school or state administration body, or a confirmation from an organisation administering Slovak government or EU programmes under an agreement with the competent state body.

See recorded sources

What are the most important financial or study-related conditions: tuition, funds, insurance, full-time study, attendance or equivalent?

Funds are proven by a bank account balance statement, a scholarship confirmation, a legal entity's confirmation of means of subsistence, or a statutory declaration of a person providing subsistence supported by bank statements; the amount is the subsistence minimum per month of residence (twelvefold if over one year), half for a minor. The official source does not state tuition or health-insurance requirements.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • Tuition and health-insurance requirements for first-time study applicants are not stated in the captured sources.

Can the student work? Under what major restrictions? What is the family position where clearly stated?

A study-residence holder may conduct business activities during temporary residence. Family members of a third-country national with temporary residence may be granted temporary residence for family reunification, except a dependent parent (Art 27 par. 2(f)) of a study-residence holder. The official source does not state whether or how much a student may work as an employee.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • The captured sources do not state whether or how much a student may work as an employee.

How long does the status last, how is it renewed, and what officially documented post-study work or residence possibilities exist?

Granted for the assumed duration of study, maximum six years; renewable for up to five years if the assumed residence lasts at least five years; after completing university studies, it may be renewed for nine months to seek employment or start a business.

See recorded sources

These are the answers currently recorded in the catalogue. A missing or partial answer is not an eligibility decision.

Your story.
Your next step.

Get your free results