NO country scene

Working holiday — Canada

NorwayYouth mobility

Explore the five recorded questions, answers and sources for this pathway.

Official link

Which nationalities and age range can participate?

Young people ('ungdom') covered by the working holiday agreement between Norway and Canada; Canada is listed in Annex 17 of the Immigration Regulations among states with which Norway had concluded a working holiday agreement as of 27 September 2024. The official source does not state the age range.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • Age range for this nationality is set in the bilateral agreement/UDI page (403, not read).

What combination of travel, work, study or training does the programme permit?

Holidays combined with work in one of these activity categories: work experience (after completing higher education, training through employment and learning Norwegian language, society and culture); studies (part of a Canadian study programme at a Norwegian university or university college with an exchange agreement with the Canadian place of study); temporary secondment to a Norwegian company as part of studies or training (paid or unpaid); holiday work (students at a Canadian university or university college working in Norway during their holiday); or tourist (holiday with work). Tourist-category holders can only work for six months for the same employer.

See recorded sources

What are the defining limitations: quota, ballot, previous participation, employer limits, study limits or equivalent?

Activities must fit one of the listed categories (work experience, studies, temporary secondment, holiday work, tourist); a repeat applicant's activities must fall under a different category than last time. Tourist-category holders can only work for six months for the same employer. Applicants must reside in Canada, and the studies category requires an exchange agreement between the Norwegian institution and the Canadian place of study.

See recorded sources

What funds, insurance, onward travel or similar preparation is particularly important?

Enough money to live on for the first three months in Norway — NOK 15 488 per month, i.e. NOK 46 464 for the first three months — as money in the bank and/or a concrete offer of paid work; a signed declaration that medical insurance and full hospital insurance will be taken out before entering Norway.

See recorded sources

How long can the person stay, can the programme be extended or repeated, and what happens when it ends?

The regulation allows a working-holiday residence permit for a total of up to two years; the permit does not form a basis for permanent residence. The official source does not state extension or repeat rules or what happens at the end of the stay.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • The agreement with Canada may set a shorter period; extension/repeat rules not stated; UDI page (403) not read.

These are the answers currently recorded in the catalogue. A missing or partial answer is not an eligibility decision.

Your story.
Your next step.

Get your free results