NO country scene

University college or university

NorwayStudy

Explore the five recorded questions, answers and sources for this pathway.

Official link

What education or training is this pathway designed for?

The checked official sources did not provide enough route-specific evidence to confirm the type of education or training this route is for.

What type of institution/course must accept or enrol the applicant?

Which studies can be approved, and whether other institutions or schools can be approved, may be set in UDI guidelines issued in consultation with the Ministry of Education (Kunnskapsdepartementet).

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • Concrete approval criteria are in UDI guidelines not read. UDI via page not read (Azure WAF captcha 403); answer from the consolidated Immigration Regulations/Act on Lovdata.

What are the most important financial or study-related conditions: tuition, funds, insurance, full-time study, attendance or equivalent?

Permits are only granted for full-time studies. Maintenance must be secured, e.g. through sufficient own funds (UDI may require a set amount transferred to a Norwegian bank and partly or fully blocked for a period) or a student loan or grant of sufficient size. The official source does not state the required amount, tuition or insurance conditions.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • Required amount and insurance/tuition conditions not stated in cited text. UDI via page not read (Azure WAF captcha 403); answer from the consolidated Immigration Regulations/Act on Lovdata.

Can the student work? Under what major restrictions? What is the family position where clearly stated?

Students granted the permit also receive permission to work part-time 20 hours per week and full-time during ordinary holidays, and possibly full-time for a limited period when documented as part of the education. The official source does not state the family position.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • Family position not stated in the cited provision; UDI via page not read (Azure WAF captcha).
  • https://lovdata.no/dokument/SF/forskrift/2009-10-15-1286/KAPITTEL_6
    Utlendinger som får tillatelse etter § 6-19, skal samtidig få tillatelse til deltidsarbeid for 20 timer i uken og heltidsarbeid i de ordinære feriene, eventuelt også heltidsarbeid for et avgrenset tidsrom når det foreligger dokumentasjon på at arbeidet er en del av utdanningen.

How long does the status last, how is it renewed, and what officially documented post-study work or residence possibilities exist?

A student permit may be granted for up to three years if consistent with the study plan and maintenance is secured for the whole period; renewal requires satisfactory progress in the studies. The permit does not form a basis for permanent residence. The official source does not state any post-study job-seeker option.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • Post-study job-seeker possibilities not covered by cited text. UDI via page not read (Azure WAF captcha 403); answer from the consolidated Immigration Regulations/Act on Lovdata.

These are the answers currently recorded in the catalogue. A missing or partial answer is not an eligibility decision.

Your story.
Your next step.

Get your free results