MA country scene

Student Registration Card

MoroccoStudy

Explore the five recorded questions, answers and sources for this pathway.

Official link

What education or training is this pathway designed for?

The card is for foreign students in Morocco who have completed enrolment formalities with an educational establishment (établissement d'enseignement) and arranged accommodation. The sources do not specify which level or type of education or training qualifies.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • The level or type of education/training covered (e.g. university, vocational, language courses) is not specified in the available sources.
  • The statutory definition in the immigration law (following instruction or studies in Morocco) is already cited by the protected R3 answer and is not reused here.

What type of institution/course must accept or enrol the applicant?

The applicant must provide proof of enrolment to pursue studies in Morocco, i.e. an enrolment certificate from the educational establishment. The official source does not state which types of institution or course qualify.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • The sources do not specify which types of institution or course qualify (e.g. accreditation or level).

What are the most important financial or study-related conditions: tuition, funds, insurance, full-time study, attendance or equivalent?

Morocco's Law 02-03 (Art. 13) gives the student-mention registration card to a foreign national who establishes that they are following teaching or studies in Morocco and who shows sufficient means of subsistence. The implementing decree (Decree 2-09-607, Art. 15) also requires an entry visa bearing the 'study' mention where the applicant's nationality is subject to a visa. Neither text sets a minimum amount of funds or a tuition, health-insurance, full-time-enrolment or attendance threshold. The decree (Art. 11) leaves the list of documents to be attached to residence-card applications to an order of the Minister of the Interior, which was not found.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • The Minister of the Interior order fixing the documents for residence-card applications (Decree 2-09-607, Art. 11) was not located; it may set enrolment, insurance or funds evidence for the student card.
  • No minimum amount for 'sufficient means of subsistence' is stated in the fetched texts.
  • Whether Law 02-03 and Decree 2-09-607 were amended by 2026-09-25 was not verified (SGG copies carry no consolidation date).
  • Loi n° 02-03, Article 13, 2nd paragraph
    La carte d'immatriculation délivrée à l'étranger qui établit qu'il suit au Maroc un enseignement ou qu'il y fait des études et qui justifie de moyens d'existence suffisants, porte la mention " étudiant ".
  • Décret n° 2-09-607, Article 15, 3rd paragraph
    En vue d'obtenir la carte d'immatriculation portant la mention « étudiant », conformément aux termes du 2e alinéa de l'article 13 de la loi n°02-03 précitée, l'étranger doit disposer d'un visa d'entrée au Maroc portant la mention « étude » lorsque sa nationalité est soumise à cette formalité.

Can the student work? Under what major restrictions? What is the family position where clearly stated?

The official source does not state a student-specific work rule; any employer wishing to recruit a foreign employee must obtain authorisation from the government labour authority. The official source does not state the family position.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • No student-specific working-hours limit or exception was found.
  • The position of accompanying family members was not established.

How long does the status last, how is it renewed, and what officially documented post-study work or residence possibilities exist?

A registration card authorises stay for 1 to 10 years maximum, renewable for the same period according to the reasons given. A foreigner with at least 4 years of uninterrupted residence in conformity with the laws may obtain a residence card; the decision takes into account notably the means of existence, including professional activity conditions, and facts supporting an intention to settle durably. The official source does not state a post-study work option.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • No student-specific renewal documents or fee were found.
  • No post-study work or residence transition rule was found.
  • Whether study years count toward the 4-year residence-card period is not stated.

These are the answers currently recorded in the catalogue. A missing or partial answer is not an eligibility decision.

Your story.
Your next step.

Get your free results