JP country scene

Student — designated Japanese-language institution

JapanStudy

Explore the five recorded questions, answers and sources for this pathway.

Official link

What education or training is this pathway designed for?

Japanese-language education received at a public-notice (告示) or accredited (認定) Japanese-language education institution, including students receiving exclusively Japanese-language education.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • The Student activity definition does not name Japanese-language institutions explicitly.

What type of institution/course must accept or enrol the applicant?

A public-notice (告示) Japanese-language education institution or an accredited (認定) Japanese-language education institution; the confirmation forms are prepared by the institution where the student will enrol, and document lists differ by whether the institution is notified as a suitable school (Class I or II).

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • Admission/enrolment proof requirements are in linked PDFs not read.

What are the most important financial or study-related conditions: tuition, funds, insurance, full-time study, attendance or equivalent?

The official document lists include a statement of expense support (経費支弁書) for Certificate of Eligibility and change-of-status applications, and a declaration on payment of living expenses (滞在費支弁に関する申告書) for extensions; the page does not state amounts. The official source does not state tuition, insurance or attendance conditions.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • No fund amount, tuition, insurance, full-time or attendance condition is stated on the status page; the linked application-notes PDF was not read.

Can the student work? Under what major restrictions? What is the family position where clearly stated?

Yes, with permission to engage in an activity other than that permitted by the status: a comprehensive permission covers paid work of up to 28 hours per week (up to 8 hours per day during the school's long vacations). Work in adult-entertainment businesses (風俗営業 etc.) cannot be permitted. The official source does not state the family position.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • Family (dependant) position is not stated on the pages read.
  • https://www.moj.go.jp/isa/applications/procedures/nyuukokukanri07_00003.html
    1 包括許可(1週について28時間以内で稼働する場合) 1週について28時間以内(教育機関の長期休業期間にあっては、1日について8時間以内)の収入を伴う事業を運営する活動(注)又は報酬を受ける活動を行う場合は、資格外活動の包括許可が必要となります。
  • https://www.moj.go.jp/isa/applications/procedures/16-8.html
    (4)申請に係る活動が次のいずれの活動にも当たらないこと。 ア 法令(刑事・民事を問わない。) イ 風俗営業、店舗型性風俗特殊営業若しくは特定遊興飲食店営業が営まれている営業所において行う活動又は無店舗型性風俗特殊営業、映像送信型性風俗特殊営業、店舗型電話異性紹介営業若しくは無店舗型電話異性紹介事業に従事して行う活動

How long does the status last, how is it renewed, and what officially documented post-study work or residence possibilities exist?

The period of stay is specified by the Minister of Justice for each individual, not exceeding 4 years and 3 months. The document does not state how it is renewed or post-study work or residence possibilities.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • Renewal procedure and conditions are not described in the supplied document.
  • Post-study work or residence possibilities are not described in the supplied document.

These are the answers currently recorded in the catalogue. A missing or partial answer is not an eligibility decision.

Your story.
Your next step.

Get your free results