IE country scene

Higher-education programme — NFQ level 9

IrelandStudy

Explore the five recorded questions, answers and sources for this pathway.

Official link

What education or training is this pathway designed for?

The pathway is designed for higher education programmes from level 6 to 10 on the National Framework of Qualifications.

See recorded sources
  • Introduction
    Higher Education programmes from level 6 to 10 on the National Framework of Qualifications

What type of institution/course must accept or enrol the applicant?

A higher education programme listed on the Interim List of Eligible Programmes (ILEP) or the TrustEd Ireland Providers eligible programmes list; the provider sets admission requirements, including English level.

See recorded sources

What are the most important financial or study-related conditions: tuition, funds, insurance, full-time study, attendance or equivalent?

Immediate access to at least €10,000 for the first year and €10,000 for each later year, in addition to course fees; full-time daytime programme (part-time or distance learning does not qualify); private medical insurance; course fees under €6,000 must be paid in full before applying for the visa, and where fees exceed €6,000 at least €6,000 must be paid before applying.

See recorded sources

Can the student work? Under what major restrictions? What is the family position where clearly stated?

Up to 20 hours a week in term time and up to 40 hours a week in June–September and 15 December–15 January; students typically cannot bring family members, except in very exceptional circumstances. Students on NFQ level 7+ courses may do integral work placements/internships exceeding 20 hours a week.

See recorded sources

How long does the status last, how is it renewed, and what officially documented post-study work or residence possibilities exist?

Student permission is limited to 7 years in total; Level 9+ graduates may get Stamp 1G for 12 months, renewable for a further 12 months (within an 8-year overall limit), to seek graduate employment and apply for a General or Critical Skills Employment Permit or research hosting agreement. The official source does not state the length of each individual student permission.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • Length of each individual Stamp 2 permission for higher-education students is not stated in the captured sources.

These are the answers currently recorded in the catalogue. A missing or partial answer is not an eligibility decision.

Your story.
Your next step.

Get your free results