IE country scene

Higher-education programme — NFQ level 7

IrelandStudy

Explore the five recorded questions, answers and sources for this pathway.

Official link

What education or training is this pathway designed for?

Higher education (third-level) study at NFQ level 7, within the level 6–10 range eligible for student permission.

See recorded sources

What type of institution/course must accept or enrol the applicant?

A higher education programme listed on the Interim List of Eligible Programmes (ILEP) or the TrustEd Ireland Providers eligible programmes list; the provider sets admission requirements, including English level.

See recorded sources

What are the most important financial or study-related conditions: tuition, funds, insurance, full-time study, attendance or equivalent?

Immediate access to at least €10,000 for the first year and €10,000 for each later year, in addition to course fees; full-time daytime programme (part-time or distance learning does not qualify); private medical insurance; course fees under €6,000 must be paid in full before applying for the visa, and where fees exceed €6,000 at least €6,000 must be paid before applying.

See recorded sources

Can the student work? Under what major restrictions? What is the family position where clearly stated?

Up to 20 hours a week in term time and up to 40 hours a week in June–September and 15 December–15 January; students typically cannot bring family members, except in very exceptional circumstances. Students on NFQ level 7+ courses may do integral work placements/internships exceeding 20 hours a week.

See recorded sources

How long does the status last, how is it renewed, and what officially documented post-study work or residence possibilities exist?

Student permission is limited to 7 years in total and students must progress to higher NFQ levels; the Third Level Graduate Programme (12 months post-study) is described for level 8 or 9 awards, so no post-study route is documented for a level 7 award itself. The official source does not state the length of each individual student permission.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • Length of each individual Stamp 2 permission for higher-education students is not stated in the captured sources.
  • Source is silent on level 7; exclusion from the graduate programme is inferred from its "level 8 or level 9" wording.

These are the answers currently recorded in the catalogue. A missing or partial answer is not an eligibility decision.

Your story.
Your next step.

Get your free results