IE country scene

Higher-education programme — NFQ level 10

IrelandStudy

Explore the five recorded questions, answers and sources for this pathway.

Official link

What education or training is this pathway designed for?

Higher education (third-level) study at NFQ level 10, within the level 6–10 range eligible for student permission.

See recorded sources

What type of institution/course must accept or enrol the applicant?

A higher education programme listed on the Interim List of Eligible Programmes (ILEP) or the TrustEd Ireland Providers eligible programmes list; the provider sets admission requirements, including English level.

See recorded sources

What are the most important financial or study-related conditions: tuition, funds, insurance, full-time study, attendance or equivalent?

Immediate access to at least €10,000 for the first year and €10,000 for each later year, in addition to course fees; full-time daytime programme (part-time or distance learning does not qualify); private medical insurance; course fees under €6,000 must be paid in full before applying for the visa, and where fees exceed €6,000 at least €6,000 must be paid before applying.

See recorded sources

Can the student work? Under what major restrictions? What is the family position where clearly stated?

Up to 20 hours a week in term time and up to 40 hours a week in June–September and 15 December–15 January; students typically cannot bring family members, except in very exceptional circumstances. Students on NFQ level 7+ courses may do integral work placements/internships exceeding 20 hours a week.

See recorded sources

How long does the status last, how is it renewed, and what officially documented post-study work or residence possibilities exist?

Student permission is limited to 7 years in total; Level 9+ graduates may get Stamp 1G for 12 months, renewable for a further 12 months (within an 8-year overall limit), to seek graduate employment and apply for a General or Critical Skills Employment Permit or research hosting agreement. The official source does not state the length of each individual student permission.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • Length of each individual Stamp 2 permission for higher-education students is not stated in the captured sources.

These are the answers currently recorded in the catalogue. A missing or partial answer is not an eligibility decision.

Your story.
Your next step.

Get your free results