IE country scene

Eligible professional award programme

IrelandStudy

Explore the five recorded questions, answers and sources for this pathway.

Official link

What education or training is this pathway designed for?

Study on a Professional Award programme, one of the course types listed on Ireland's eligible programme lists (alongside English language programmes of at least 25 weeks, higher education at NFQ levels 6 to 10, and foundation programmes).

See recorded sources

What type of institution/course must accept or enrol the applicant?

For study longer than 90 days, the course must be on the Interim List of Eligible Programmes (ILEP) or the TrustEd Ireland Providers eligible programmes list. Eligible programmes do not appear on both lists, so both must be checked. The programmes are offered by a range of education providers.

See recorded sources

What are the most important financial or study-related conditions: tuition, funds, insurance, full-time study, attendance or equivalent?

Immediate access to at least €10,000 for the first year and €10,000 for each later year, in addition to course fees; full-time daytime programme (part-time or distance learning does not qualify); private medical insurance; course fees under €6,000 must be paid in full before applying for the visa, and where fees exceed €6,000 at least €6,000 must be paid before applying.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • The €10,000 rule is stated for "all academic courses"; not stated specifically for professional awards.

Can the student work? Under what major restrictions? What is the family position where clearly stated?

Up to 20 hours a week in term time and up to 40 hours a week in June–September and 15 December–15 January; students typically cannot bring family members, except in very exceptional circumstances.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • Work concession is stated for ILEP English/higher-education students; applicability to professional awards is by their ILEP listing, not stated explicitly.

How long does the status last, how is it renewed, and what officially documented post-study work or residence possibilities exist?

Counts toward the 7-year overall limit on student permission; students must progress to higher levels. No post-study route is documented specifically for professional awards. The official source does not state the length of each permission.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • Length of each permission for professional-award students is not stated.

These are the answers currently recorded in the catalogue. A missing or partial answer is not an eligibility decision.

Your story.
Your next step.

Get your free results