GL country scene

PhD Residence Permit

GreenlandStudy

Explore the five recorded questions, answers and sources for this pathway.

Official link

What education or training is this pathway designed for?

A PhD study programme linked to a Greenlandic educational institution, for a PhD student enrolled at a Danish or Greenlandic university and salaried by the university or an affiliated company, a PhD student enrolled without salary, or a visiting PhD student enrolled abroad doing part of the programme in Greenland.

See recorded sources

What type of institution/course must accept or enrol the applicant?

A full-degree applicant must be enrolled in a PhD programme in Greenland; a visiting PhD student must be enrolled in a PhD programme abroad and be associated with a Greenlandic educational institution.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • The captured official page does not state every possible edge case for this question; independent review remains pending.

What are the most important financial or study-related conditions: tuition, funds, insurance, full-time study, attendance or equivalent?

A salaried PhD student's self-support is secured by the salary; an unsalaried student needs disposable funds of DKK 50,000, or DKK 4,200 a month for a permit under a year; the student must understand Danish, Swedish, Norwegian, English or German at a reasonable level.

See recorded sources

Can the student work? Under what major restrictions? What is the family position where clearly stated?

PhD students may work full-time at their university or affiliated company, limited to tasks that are part of the PhD programme, and separately get a limited work permit for extra employment — up to 15 hours a week from September to May and full-time in June-August; family (spouse/partner, children under 18) may accompany.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • The captured official page does not state every possible edge case for this question; independent review remains pending.

How long does the status last, how is it renewed, and what officially documented post-study work or residence possibilities exist?

The permit runs for the nominal duration of the PhD programme, capped at 1 year from the date of the permit, extendable 1 year at a time; extension must be requested before expiry, but not earlier than 3 months before that date. The official source does not state a post-study work or residence option.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • The captured official page does not state every possible edge case for this question; independent review remains pending.

These are the answers currently recorded in the catalogue. A missing or partial answer is not an eligibility decision.

Your story.
Your next step.

Get your free results