GL country scene

Higher Education Residence Permit

GreenlandStudy

Explore the five recorded questions, answers and sources for this pathway.

Official link

What education or training is this pathway designed for?

The permit covers higher education in Greenland, either a full programme or part of a programme as a guest or exchange student. It can also cover a preparatory course for higher education.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • The institution's accreditation requirements are not established by the supplied passages.
  • official SIRI/nyidanmark.dk page captured text
    New to Denmark Skip to main content Higher education in Greenland You will be studying in Greenland in a higher educational programme. Normal processing time 3 months If further information is needed, the processing time can be up to 4 months Processing fee No fee Who can apply for a residence permit? If you have been admitted to a higher educational programme in Greenland, you can be granted a permit to stay and study in Greenland. You can either complete a full educational programme or do part of your education as a guest or exchange student. You can also be granted a residence permit to complete a preparatory course for a higher educational programme. You need to apply for a residence permit with SIRU as a student, even if you are a citizen of a EU/EEA country. Citizens of Nordic

What type of institution/course must accept or enrol the applicant?

The educational institution must be publicly accredited and the programme approved by a Greenlandic authority; study must be full-time.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • The captured official page does not state every possible edge case for this question; independent review remains pending.

What are the most important financial or study-related conditions: tuition, funds, insurance, full-time study, attendance or equivalent?

The applicant must show funds matching the monthly grant awarded by the Greenlandic education-support authority (Ilinniagaqarnersiuteqartitsivik/USF) for the planned stay, and must understand the language of instruction (Danish, Swedish, Norwegian, English or German) at a reasonable level. Study must be full-time. The official source does not state tuition or health insurance conditions.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • The captured official page does not state every possible edge case for this question; independent review remains pending.

Can the student work? Under what major restrictions? What is the family position where clearly stated?

Students get a limited work permit: up to 15 hours a week from September to May and full-time in June-August. Spouse, registered or cohabiting partner and children under 18 living at home may be granted a permit; the student must show DKK 25,000 per family member, or DKK 2,100 a month for a family member staying under a year.

See recorded sources

How long does the status last, how is it renewed, and what officially documented post-study work or residence possibilities exist?

The permit lasts for the standard (nominal) duration of the programme, capped at 1 year from the date of the permit, and can be extended for up to 1 year at a time; the extension application must be filed before expiry, but not earlier than 3 months before it. The official source does not state any post-study work or residence option.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • The captured official page does not state every possible edge case for this question; independent review remains pending.

These are the answers currently recorded in the catalogue. A missing or partial answer is not an eligibility decision.

Your story.
Your next step.

Get your free results