01What education or training is this pathway designed for?
Intensive German language courses in Germany (Section 16f(1) AufenthG) - generally daily lessons of at least 18 teaching units per week; evening and weekend courses do not qualify.
See recorded sources
02What type of institution/course must accept or enrol the applicant?
Admission to an intensive German language course (course provider); the courses concerned are those not serving to prepare for a course of study.
See recorded sources
Limits of the record- no accreditation requirement for the course provider is stated
- AufenthG cited from the official English translation current to the Act of 8 May 2024; later amendments not reflected and the German text governs
03What are the most important financial or study-related conditions: tuition, funds, insurance, full-time study, attendance or equivalent?
Living costs must be covered for the stay, evidenced by a blocked account or a declaration of commitment.
See recorded sources
Limits of the record- amount and insurance not stated on captured page
04Can the student work? Under what major restrictions? What is the family position where clearly stated?
Work up to 20 hours per week is permitted.
See recorded sources
Limits of the record- family position not stated in the captured sources
05How long does the status last, how is it renewed, and what officially documented post-study work or residence possibilities exist?
Issued for the duration of the language course, up to a maximum of 12 months. The official source does not state post-course work or residence options.
See recorded sources
Limits of the record- post-course options not stated on captured page
These are the answers currently recorded in the catalogue. A missing or partial answer is not an eligibility decision.
Explore more pathways in Germany · All pathways