CK country scene

Specialist Worker Visa and Permit

Cook IslandsWork

Explore the five recorded questions, answers and sources for this pathway.

Official link

What type of worker, employment situation, occupation or professional activity is this pathway actually designed for?

A Specialist Worker Visa and Permit is for a person without continuing rights entering for a defined period to provide technical expert advice or specialist consultancy.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • The official capture is dated 2023 and later amendments were not independently established.
  • Independent literal and independent review are pending.

Does the applicant need a job offer, employer, sponsor, transfer relationship or other employer involvement? What is important about that employer relationship?

The work must be contracted by the Cook Islands Government, a registered business or an incorporated society.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • The official capture is dated 2023 and later amendments were not independently established.
  • Independent literal and independent review are pending.

What are the few decisive professional characteristics of the pathway: occupation, qualifications, experience, salary, skill level, shortage status, labour-market condition or equivalent?

The distinctive limits are specialist technical or consultancy services, no more than 31 days at any one time and six months in any one year.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • The official capture is dated 2023 and later amendments were not independently established.
  • Independent literal and independent review are pending.

What work does the permission allow? Is the holder tied to an employer, occupation or sector? Can family accompany where clearly established?

The holder may make unlimited travel for the services contract, but must undertake only the contracted work; no spouse or dependent may be included.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • The official capture is dated 2023 and later amendments were not independently established.
  • Independent literal and independent review are pending.

How long is the permission normally granted for, how is it renewed, and what longer-term residence direction exists if officially stated?

The permit provides for the services contract, subject to a maximum stay of 31 days at one time and six months in a year, and the official regulation does not state a permanent-residence progression. The official source does not state a renewal rule.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • The official capture is dated 2023 and later amendments were not independently established.
  • Independent literal and independent review are pending.

These are the answers currently recorded in the catalogue. A missing or partial answer is not an eligibility decision.

Your story.
Your next step.

Get your free results