CA country scene

Post-Graduation Work Permit

CanadaWork

Explore the five recorded questions, answers and sources for this pathway.

Official link

What type of worker, employment situation, occupation or professional activity is this pathway actually designed for?

The permit is for students who have graduated from eligible designated learning institutions (DLIs) and want to gain Canadian work experience.

See recorded sources
  • chars 70-387
    The post-graduation work permit (PGWP) allows students who have graduated from [eligible designated learning institutions (DLIs)](https://www.canada.ca/en/immigration-refugees-citizenship/services/study-canada/study-permit/prepare/designated-learning-institutions-list.html) to gain valuable Canadian work experience.

Does the applicant need a job offer, employer, sponsor, transfer relationship or other employer involvement? What is important about that employer relationship?

The checked official sources did not provide enough route-specific evidence to confirm the employer, sponsor or transfer relationship required.

What are the few decisive professional characteristics of the pathway: occupation, qualifications, experience, salary, skill level, shortage status, labour-market condition or equivalent?

Graduating from a designated learning institution does not by itself confer eligibility; since 1 November 2024 the eligibility requirements changed and most applicants must give proof of language results when they apply.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • The capture does not state the required language level, the test accepted, or the field-of-study conditions; it defers them to a separate eligibility page that is not among the captures.
  • Applicants who submitted before 1 November 2024 and flight school graduates are exempt from the new requirements.
  • The programme itself must be PGWP-eligible - the capture points to the DLI list to check which schools have eligible programmes.
  • chars 389-992
    Graduating from a designated learning institution (DLI) doesn’t automatically make you eligible for a PGWP. - [Check the DLI list](https://www.canada.ca/en/immigration-refugees-citizenship/services/study-canada/study-permit/prepare/designated-learning-institutions-list.html) to find out which schools have eligible programs. As of November 1, 2024, the [eligibility requirements](https://www.canada.ca/en/immigration-refugees-citizenship/services/study-canada/work/after-graduation/eligibility.html) for a PGWP changed. Most PGWP applicants now need to give proof of language results when they apply.

What work does the permission allow? Is the holder tied to an employer, occupation or sector? Can family accompany where clearly established?

The checked official sources did not provide enough route-specific evidence to confirm the work allowed, any tie to employer or sector and family accompaniment.

How long is the permission normally granted for, how is it renewed, and what longer-term residence direction exists if officially stated?

The length of the permit depends on the level and duration of the study programme and on the passport expiry date, whichever comes first. The official source does not state renewal or a longer-term residence direction.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • The page's own detail, outside the cited sentence: a programme of at least 8 months (900 hours in Quebec) but under 2 years may get a permit up to the programme's length; 2 years or more may get 3 years; master's programmes of at least 8 months may get 3 years since 15 February 2024.
  • A PGWP cannot be obtained twice ('You can't get a PGWP if you already had one after completing an earlier program of study'), and the only renewal described is an extension when the passport expired first.
  • The capture states no permanent-residence direction.
  • chars 1186-1458
    The length of your PGWP depends on the level and duration of your study program, as well as the [expiry date of your passport](https://www.canada.ca/en/immigration-refugees-citizenship/services/study-canada/work/after-graduation/about.html#expired), whichever comes first.

These are the answers currently recorded in the catalogue. A missing or partial answer is not an eligibility decision.

Your story.
Your next step.

Get your free results