CA country scene

Nova Scotia Nominee Program - Nova Scotia Graduate Stream

CanadaStudy

Explore the five recorded questions, answers and sources for this pathway.

Official link

What education or training is this pathway designed for?

The stream is for recent international graduates whose skills and education match specific National Occupational Classification (NOC) job categories. It is currently open to workers in four categories: NOC 32102 (paramedical occupations), NOC 32124 (pharmacy technicians), NOC 33102 (nurse aides, orderlies and patient service associates) and NOC 42202 (early childhood educators and assistants). The credential the study programme must grant depends on the occupation: a diploma for NOC 32102 or 32124; a certificate, diploma or degree for NOC 33102; a diploma or a degree for NOC 42202.

See recorded sources
  • chars 1307-1477
    The Nova Scotia Graduate stream is for recent international graduates whose skills and education match specific National Occupational Classification (NOC) job categories.
  • chars 1690-1961
    NOVA SCOTIA GRADUATE This stream is currently open to workers in these job categories: NOC 32102: Paramedical occupations NOC 32124: Pharmacy technicians NOC 33102: nurse aides, orderlies, and patient service associates NOC 42202: early childhood educators and assistants
  • chars 2574-2834
    If you are applying under NOC 32102 or 32124, your program must grant a diploma. If you are applying under NOC 33102, your program must grant a certificate, diploma, or degree. If you are applying under NOC 42202, your program must grant a diploma or a degree.

What type of institution/course must accept or enrol the applicant?

The programme must have been completed at an eligible Nova Scotia designated learning institution, and the requirements for completing it must have been met within three years of the application. At least 50% of the programme must have been completed in Nova Scotia.

See recorded sources
  • chars 2223-2379
    have met requirements for completing a program of study at an eligible Nova Scotia designated learning institution  within three years of your application.
  • chars 2506-2573
    You must have completed at least 50% of the program in Nova Scotia.

What are the most important financial or study-related conditions: tuition, funds, insurance, full-time study, attendance or equivalent?

The applicant must show enough financial resources to successfully settle in Nova Scotia, and Nova Scotia is charging fees for the Nova Scotia Nominee Program effective 1 September 2026 (update dated 6 August 2026). The study programme must have been at least 30 weeks in length, or 24 weeks for NOC 33102 (nurse aides and continuing care assistants). The official source does not state tuition, health-insurance or attendance conditions.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • No amount is given for the NSNP application fee introduced on 1 September 2026; the page announces the fee and links to a separate update that is not in this capture set.
  • The financial test is unquantified: 'enough financial resources to successfully settle in Nova Scotia', with no figure, no per-dependant amount and no proof-of-funds rule anywhere on the page.
  • The page states no tuition cost, no health-insurance requirement and no full-time-study or attendance condition; the only study-load condition is the minimum programme length.
  • chars 2983-3053
    show enough financial resources to successfully settle in Nova Scotia.
  • chars 2380-2505
    The program must have been at least 30 weeks in length or 24 weeks for NOC 33102 (Nurse Aids and Continuing Care Assistants).
  • chars 1479-1608
    UPDATE: August 6, 2026 Nova Scotia is now charging fees for the Nova Scotia Nominee Program (NSNP) effective September 1, 2026.

Can the student work? Under what major restrictions? What is the family position where clearly stated?

The official source does not frame work as a study-time right. To submit an expression of interest, the applicant must have a full-time permanent job offer from a Nova Scotia employer in one of the listed job categories that corresponds with their recent field of study. Family appears only at the permanent-residence stage: the applicant, spouse and dependants must meet all requirements for medical, security and criminal admissibility, with IRCC holding final authority.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • The page never says whether the graduate may work, on which permit, or under what hour limits, either during the programme or between graduation and nomination; I read the whole stream page including the NOC list, the full eligibility list, the EOI instructions and the post-nomination section.
  • Nothing states whether a spouse may work or study in Nova Scotia; the only family statement is about medical, security and criminal admissibility in the IRCC permanent-residence application.
  • chars 2026-2171
    have a full-time permanent job offer from a Nova Scotia employer in a job category listed above that corresponds with your recent field of study;
  • chars 3556-3950
    Within twelve (12)  months of receiving your nominee certificate, apply to Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC) for your permanent resident visa. You, your spouse and your dependents must meet all requirements for medical, security and criminal admissibility. In some cases you may be asked to go for an interview. IRCC has the final authority to issue a permanent resident visa.

How long does the status last, how is it renewed, and what officially documented post-study work or residence possibilities exist?

Within twelve months of receiving the nominee certificate, the nominee applies to IRCC for a permanent resident visa; the applicant, their spouse and their dependants must meet all medical, security and criminal admissibility requirements, an interview may be requested, and IRCC has the final authority to issue the permanent resident visa. The official source does not state the duration or renewal of any study or work status.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • The passage is written for NSNP nominees generally; nothing on the page ties it to the Nova Scotia Graduate stream in particular.
  • It gives the deadline to apply for permanent residence, not the duration of any study or work status, which the capture never states.
  • chars 5719-6113
    Within twelve (12) months of receiving your nominee certificate, apply to Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC) for your permanent resident visa. You, your spouse and your dependents must meet all requirements for medical, security and criminal admissibility. In some cases you may be asked to go for an interview. IRCC has the final authority to issue a permanent resident visa.

These are the answers currently recorded in the catalogue. A missing or partial answer is not an eligibility decision.

Your story.
Your next step.

Get your free results