BM country scene

One Year Residential Certificate - Remote Student — closed to new applications

BermudaStudy

Explore the five recorded questions, answers and sources for this pathway.

Official link

What education or training is this pathway designed for?

The pathway is for non-Bermudian post-secondary students, to enable them to complete their higher education from Bermuda; the same certificate also covers persons who are able to work remotely from Bermuda.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • The policy describes the education only as post-secondary higher education; the programme types are set out separately in the eligibility requirements (section IV.7).
  • chars 1543-1744
    The 1Yr Certificate is for persons who are able to Work Remotely from Bermuda and to Non- Bermudian Post-Secondary Students to enable them to complete their higher education from Bermuda.

What type of institution/course must accept or enrol the applicant?

A student applicant must provide evidence of enrolment in a Research, Undergraduate, Graduate or Doctorate programme. The official source does not state a requirement on the type, location or accreditation of the institution.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • The policy sets no requirement about the type, location or accreditation of the institution and does not require the programme to be delivered by a Bermuda institution.
  • chars 2653-2782
    provide evidence of enrollment in a Research, Undergraduate, Graduate or Doctorate Program, in the case of a Student;

What are the most important financial or study-related conditions: tuition, funds, insurance, full-time study, attendance or equivalent?

The applicant must pay the application fee, possess valid health insurance coverage or purchase locally provided health insurance coverage, and have means and/or a continuous source of annual disposable income which will enable them to sustain their household and lifestyle in Bermuda and overseas without the need to engage in gainful occupation in Bermuda pursuant to section 57 of BIPA. The official source does not state a fixed income figure or any tuition, full-time-study or attendance condition.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • The policy sets no fixed income figure and no tuition, full-time-study or attendance condition.
  • The fee amount is stated separately in section XI: US$263 as of August 2020, with the current amount on the Department of Immigration fee schedule.
  • chars 1852-3098
    1. pay the application fee; 2. be at least eighteen (18) years of age; 3. not have been convicted, whether in Bermuda or elsewhere, of an offence which, in the Minister’s opinion, shows moral turpitude on the applicant’s part; 4. not have been convicted, whether in Bermuda or elsewhere, of an indictable offence in Bermuda or have been convicted of an offence outside Bermuda which if committed in Bermuda, would have been an indictable offence; 5. possess valid health insurance coverage or purchase locally provided health insurance coverage; 6. demonstrate employment with a firm or their own company registered and operating overseas, in the case of a remote worker; or 7. provide evidence of enrollment in a Research, Undergraduate, Graduate or Doctorate Program, in the case of a Student; 8. have means and/or have a continuous source of, annual disposable income, which will enable an individual to sustain his or her household and lifestyle in Bermuda and overseas without the need to engage in gainful occupation in Bermuda pursuant to section 57 of BIPA.

Can the student work? Under what major restrictions? What is the family position where clearly stated?

Answer not available

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • The official Work From Bermuda application portal states that the initiative, covering remote workers and university students, closed to new applications on28February2025. Its notice provides transitional departure and possible annual-residence application guidance, but does not establish a current new-applicant student work permission or family entitlement under this closed programme. The former2020 policy is not presented as current permission to apply.

How long does the status last, how is it renewed, and what officially documented post-study work or residence possibilities exist?

The certificate lasts one year. Holding a 1Yr Residential Certificate does not entitle a person to renewal: to obtain a subsequent 1Yr Certificate a new application is required. The official source does not state any post-study work or residence option.

See recorded sources
  • chars 6038-6220
    Having a 1Yr Residential Certificate does not entitle a person to renewal of that Certificate. In order to obtain a subsequent 1Yr Certificate, a new application is required.

These are the answers currently recorded in the catalogue. A missing or partial answer is not an eligibility decision.

Your story.
Your next step.

Get your free results