BE country scene

EU Long-Term Resident from Another Member State - Study or Vocational Training

BelgiumStudy

Explore the five recorded questions, answers and sources for this pathway.

Official link

What education or training is this pathway designed for?

This route is for a third-country national holding long-term resident status in another EU Member State who comes to Belgium to study or receive vocational training. The person's valid residence permit must be marked “EU long-term resident” and the general conditions on the DOFI page apply.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • The page does not list all exclusions or confirm how every national residence-permit format is treated.

What type of institution/course must accept or enrol the applicant?

The applicant must provide a standard certificate from an educational institution organised, recognised or subsidised by the Belgian government. The page does not specify degree level, full-time status or course duration for this mobile long-term-resident route.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • It does not state course-level, attendance, credit-load or duration requirements.

What are the most important financial or study-related conditions: tuition, funds, insurance, full-time study, attendance or equivalent?

For EU long-term resident mobility to Belgium for study or vocational training, DOFI requires a standard certificate from an educational institution organised, recognised or subsidised by the Belgian government and proof of sufficient means. The captured official page quotes more than €803 net monthly for academic year 2024/2025; this is a historical benchmark, not a verified 2026/2027 threshold. It does not list a route-specific tuition amount or attendance rate.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • The source labels €803/month as the 2024/2025 academic-year amount; the current academic-year amount is not established.

Can the student work? Under what major restrictions? What is the family position where clearly stated?

The checked official sources did not provide enough route-specific evidence to confirm whether a student on this route may work while studying or whether family members may accompany them.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • Work rights during study and family admission are not addressed by this source.

How long does the status last, how is it renewed, and what officially documented post-study work or residence possibilities exist?

After a positive decision the student receives a D visa with the national entry B19 (temporary authorisation to stay) and, after registering with the municipality within eight working days, an A card. As a general rule the residence authorisation is granted for a limited period. The official source does not state how it is renewed or any post-study work or residence option.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • The official source does not state how it is renewed or any post-study work or residence option.

These are the answers currently recorded in the catalogue. A missing or partial answer is not an eligibility decision.

Your story.
Your next step.

Get your free results