AW country scene

Temporary Residence - Intern or Trainee

ArubaStudy

Explore the five recorded questions, answers and sources for this pathway.

Official link

What education or training is this pathway designed for?

This pathway is designed for an internship (stage) or work experience (praktikant) in Aruba connected to a study or training outside Aruba. The applicant must be an adult (18 years or older).

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • The exact maximum permitted stay duration is inconsistent between sources: the webpage states 'not longer than twelve (12) months', while the checklist states the internship agreement must mention a duration of 'maximaal elf maanden' (maximum eleven months). The source does not clarify which limit applies to the residence permit itself versus the internship agreement.
  • The source does not specify whether the internship must be full-time or part-time, or whether it must be a mandatory part of the study program.

What type of institution/course must accept or enrol the applicant?

The applicant must be enrolled at a recognised educational institution abroad. The internship agreement must be concluded between the foreign educational institution, the Aruban host organisation, and the intern. Proof of enrolment at a recognised educational institution abroad is required, and this proof must be legalised or apostilled (unless issued in a country of the Kingdom of the Netherlands, which is exempt).

See recorded sources

What are the most important financial or study-related conditions: tuition, funds, insurance, full-time study, attendance or equivalent?

The applicant must be solvent, meaning they must have sufficient financial means to support themselves for the entire stay in Aruba. Proof of solvency can be: (a) proof of study financing (scholarship and/or student loan) from a competent authority, or (b) proof of financial capacity of the parents to cover the costs of stay and living expenses. The applicant must also have a private travel insurance with coverage for medical treatment and third-party liability for the entire internship duration. The checklist also requires a rental agreement (huurovereenkomst).

See recorded sources

Can the student work? Under what major restrictions? What is the family position where clearly stated?

The permit is for doing an internship (stagiair) or gaining work experience (praktikant) in Aruba in connection with the applicant's study, training or work. The official source does not state whether any other work is permitted, any limit on hours, or the family position.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • The source does not state whether the intern/trainee is allowed to work outside the internship or whether the internship itself constitutes permitted work.
  • The source does not specify any restrictions on working hours or remuneration.
  • The source does not mention the family position (e.g., whether dependants can accompany the intern).

How long does the status last, how is it renewed, and what officially documented post-study work or residence possibilities exist?

The residence permit for an intern/trainee is temporary and the stay in Aruba may not exceed twelve (12) months according to the webpage, while the checklist indicates the internship agreement may have a maximum duration of eleven (11) months. The source does not provide information on renewal of this specific permit or on post-study work or residence possibilities after the internship ends. The general handbook states that temporary residence permits are normally issued for one year, but for short periods (less than a year) the permit is granted for the duration of the activity, event or project. No specific post-internship work or residence options are documented in the provided sources.

See recorded sources
Limits of the record
  • The source does not state whether the intern/trainee permit can be renewed or extended.
  • The source does not provide any officially documented post-study work or residence possibilities after the internship.
  • The exact maximum duration of the permit is inconsistent between sources (12 months vs 11 months).

These are the answers currently recorded in the catalogue. A missing or partial answer is not an eligibility decision.

Your story.
Your next step.

Get your free results